Guide To Stages Of Alzheimer's Disease

Shared 1 month ago in Others. 107 Views

Here is the guide to the stages of Alzheimer’s disease.

Guide To Stages Of Alzheimer's Disease

Stage one is the earliest or beginning stage. Many people at this stage are undiagnosed. This is a time family members start to notice that their loved one is a little forgetful. Most people at this stage are still living alone or with a spouse.


The next stage is stage two. It is at this stage many people are initially diagnosed. Spouses and other family members notice more forgetfulness, and more difficulty with daily tasks; ie balancing the checkbook, following directions, etc. At this stage you have some people who can continue living at home with the help of spouses, family, and home health agencies; but you also have people who qualify for assisted living residences. People at this stage often need only cueing or reminders to perform most tasks. While people at this stage repeat questions and tales multiple times they usually do not wander away from the location where they are living. Though they may need reminders for activities of daily living because they are not yet wondering they do not yet require a locked residence.


Both stage one and stage two are considered mild dementia and it is at these levels that medications are of the most benefit. That is because the medications available now only slow the progression of the illness. There are currently no known medications to completely stop or reverse the progression of the illness.


The middle stage is also known as stage three is the beginning of moderate Dementia. In this stage, people have begun to wander off. Most are still mobile though balance could be an issue. Incontinence often begins at this stage. People require instruction and guidance worded in simple steps provided one step at a time to follow instructions or cues. It is at this stage that memory loss becomes the most obvious, as they begin to fail to recognize family and friends. Nutrition can become an issue as people are likely to forget to eat or get up and wander away from the table before finishing their meal. Because of the tendency to wonderful people at this stage need constant supervision or a locked unit in a Dementia Care Residence.


Stage four is the end of moderate Dementia. For most mobility and balance have become an issue, as has their ability to follow even the simplest directions. At this stage, people often do not recognize their closest family members. This stage is often compared to a toddler, no seems to be one of their favorite words. That could be because they can no longer understand much of what you say to them, or because that is one of the few words they still know.


The last stage of Alzheimer's is known as stage five or severe Dementia. By this stage most all reasoning has been lost, they have lost the ability to communicate, and are no longer mobile. Most develop swallowing problems and need either pureed foods, often with thickened liquids, or tube feeding At this stage caregivers must be extra careful to monitor positioning and swallowing to avoid pressure ulcers and aspiration pneumonia.


For such situations whether mild or severe medical id bracelets are very beneficial for your loved ones. As you can find them anytime and anywhere. You don’t have to worry about them being lost.

Living in United States